Scholarship Information


  • Graduating high school senior
  • Must have had involvement in some form of High School music
  • Priority given to students pursuing music involvement in college
  • Must have a minimum of two letters of recommendation
    1. at least one from High School music teacher(s)
    2. at least one character reference

If selected, must provide documentation of college enrollment.

A $1000 Scholarship will be paid when the student is in their 2nd Semester.

Application must include:

  • Use “essay format” to state the importance of music in your life, to outline your involvement in high school music and your plans for future involvement with music in both college and beyond.
  • Provide your current GPA and if available GPA ranking in class.
  • List the activities and organizations in which you participated both in and outside of school and your level of involvement.
  • Include letters of reference.
  • Please include your contact information (address, PERSONAL(not school) email and phone number)

Send a letter of application and your letters of reference no later than March 1, 2021 to:

Trails West Barbershop Chorus

c/o 12159 S Prairie Creek Pkwy

Olathe, KS 66061

Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Scholarship applicants will be notified of their application status by March 31, 2021.

Additional questions to Dr. Earl Martin @

For a downloadable version of this information Click Here

Once received each application is reviewed by a committee. Standards used by the committee to evaluate these applications are:

  • Musical Involvement
  • Musical Experience
  • Community Involvement
  • College Plans
  • Career Plans

Each school year Trails West Barbershop Chorus uses the above criteria to award generally two scholarships each year.

Winners of these scholarships for the most recent years are:


LyLena Estabin - Olathe Northwest High School


Addison Lee, Olathe East High School
Nathaniel Sawchak, Gardner-Edgerton High School


Emilie Giles, Olathe South High School


Lindsey Hart, Olathe East High School
Cole Bellamy, Olathe North High School


Abigail Lane, Gardner Edgerton High School
Hannah Halinger, Olathe North High School


Mary Duncan, Olathe Northwest High School
Kristin Gaddis, Olathe South High School


Adam Holthus, Olathe East High School
Brock Webb, Olathe South High School

If you have questions about the scholarship program, please click here to email us.

2014 Scholarship Nights

Scholarship Night welcome table Students picking up Apps